top of page
Search
  • cemberley

I Just Can't get Enough

Can I tell you about a website I love? My students are already familiar with the results of it, but I just wanted to share how much I'm loving educanon.com as a way to actually engage my students when I'm showing a video.

That's not to say I show videos all the time, but they come in handy -- from something instructional someone created for YouTube, to a TED Talk, to Khan Academy, to my own screencasts! Educanon.com lets you insert content into the video that forces students to stop and think about what they're viewing. You can create Multiple Choice questions to test comprhension or -- my personal favourite -- you can have the video stop and present a reflection question to get students thinking about what they're watching, or the new information they're learning -- without worrying about missing your cue!

I've used it for a Gender in Marketing lesson to generate a KWL-style discussion as we watched commercials, and a Human Rights project, to help students keep pace with the notes they needed to take. It's super easy, free (there is a paid version that gives you more question types), and can even be set up to assess the answers for you!

I rarely see how some technologies can be easily integrated into my classes because I worry about about whether my students will be able to access it, but educanon was immediately useful!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Telling stories

If anything separates humans from other animals, it's the way we tell stories. Far from just being a way to convey information, stories can entertain, soothe, teach, and motivate. From cave drawings t

Asking questions

It's not easy to admit you don't know something. We fear ridicule, being exposed. Maybe we'll give the impression that we're frauds, that we will lose all credibility if we admit that we don't know th

How can we cope?

In response to Pride in Madness: We Need to Learn to Cope which references this CBC article. As a teacher who invests far too much in her students, I can confirm that nothing in my basic training prep

bottom of page